It’s time for me to come out

I know it seems like nothing but sunshine and unicorns over here, but I think it’s time I shared something with you. Brace yourselves, this is a long one.

I started this blog in an attempt to be authentic. To be as much of myself as I could, warts and all, and to laugh at myself and my kids, and make you laugh, too. But I’ve been remiss in sharing a very important part of who I am.

You see, for more than a year now, I’ve been battling prenatal and postpartum depression and anxiety.

It is indeed a battle, and some days it feels like I’m winning, and other days it feels like I’m losing.

Looking back, I think I had a mild case of PPD after the Threenager was born, but I didn’t recognize it, while it was happening. I wanted to enjoy being a new mom so badly, but so many things seemed to go wrong in those first six months. Everything felt so hard, and I remember asking the Husband at one point, “When do we get to enjoy this?”

It took a year before I began to feel like myself again.

Soon, I began to make some decisions about the path of my career, and by the fall of 2013, I had plans to apply for my Doctorate in Music, so that I could teach at the university level. The Husband and I decided that we probably wouldn’t have any more kids, because my degree was 4-5 years long, and I was already in my late thirties. The timing just wasn’t right.

Then I found out I was pregnant.

People always assume, if you already have a child, that if another one comes along, it’s on purpose, and something to get excited about.

I felt so guilty for not being excited.

So I pretended, around most of my friends, co-workers and family. Because when I didn’t pretend? I felt ungrateful. I felt like a Debbie Downer. I felt like eyes were being rolled behind my back, because two-kids-are-so-much-better-than-one and why wouldn’t I want another? After all, I had friends who had been trying to get pregnant and miscarried. Many friends. It wasn’t fair, so I kept my mouth shut.

But I also felt like I was drowning. Like I was being choked. Like I had finally told the Universe what I wanted to do with my life, and the Universe was all, “BITCH, PLEASE. I got this.” And all of the possible things that could now go wrong were lining themselves up to happen to me.

How could we afford another child? How would we all fit in our tiny little house, once the Teenager moved in with us in the fall? What if something was seriously wrong with my baby? What if I lost the baby? Did I kind of want to lose the baby?? No! Well, maybe. No. Fuck, I don’t know.

I spent so many moments in the bedroom or bathroom, door closed, silently sobbing into tissues or a pillow. Pretending to be happy around my friends and family felt necessary and yet impossible. It was torture.

Luckily, my midwife, who had been with me in my last pregnancy, noticed that something wasn’t right. She talked frankly with me about it, and immediately put me on the list for a specialized program that dealt specifically with this type of issue. I was seen by a psychiatrist and diagnosed with clinical depression and anxiety.

Once I began seeing someone regularly, and talking through the issues causing my anxiety, things began to ease. By the time I gave birth, I was feeling pretty good. I had been quite fearful of how my hormones would spike, post-labour. But I had baby C and those first few weeks were actually lovely. We had an easy home birth. He latched well, he fed well, he gained well, he slept well. He was an “easy” and happy baby, and I had no trouble bonding with him.

But then things started to feel…off.

I started to feel like I couldn’t breathe again. The Threenager, still adjusting to her new brother, was being demanding. Baby C was, well, a newborn, and demanding in the innocent way only newborns can be. I was desperately afraid of SIDS, and began waking up to check his breathing every hour or two, even though he was sleeping right next to me. Hell, I even found myself checking the Husband’s breathing, every so often. I couldn’t ask the Husband for any time to myself, because it felt like too much work to ask. I began to have trouble with breastfeeding, experiencing immense pain, but no one had answers.

Months went by, and I got more and more revved up. I began to consider drugs when I finally realized that, despite seeing a social worker weekly, a psychiatrist bi-weekly, attending a postpartum support group weekly and trying to practice mindfulness, I was walking around so angry and anxious that I wanted to claw people’s eyes out. Like, anyone that I saw. Anywhere. I HATED people. Loathed them. I walked onto public transit itching for someone to piss me off, so that I could let them have it.

And I realized, I wasn’t me anymore.

If this was how I was around people I didn’t even know, I began to realize I might be making it hard for the people in my life to love me. Was I taking it out on the Husband? Was I yelling more at the Threenager? Was I even letting the Teenager in, now that she was with us full time? No, it was time to give everyone, including myself, a break from the current me, and try something different.

Thankfully, the first drug I tried (one that is considered completely safe while breastfeeding) was successful, on the lowest dose. I began to smile more. To yell less. To laugh, and enjoy people and doing things again.*

I began to feel closer to the old me.

Are things perfect? No. Do I still lose my shit? Occasionally. I still experience highs and lows, but they aren’t the out of control, roller coaster ride that they were before. Life feels manageable again, and I feel less like it’s me against the world.

Why am I telling you all of this? Several reasons.

The first is that it came to my attention that I was coming across as really having it together, on my blog. I actually laughed out loud when a friend said as much to me. Y’all need to know that I really do NOT have my shit together. I am high-functioning in many ways, and as long as I have a list of things I need to do (that doesn’t include vacuuming), my anxiety actually helps me accomplish things. I also find that creating things has a therapeutic benefit, so whether it’s almond milk, cookies or writing, it feels better to make things than to sit in front of my computer surfing the latest viral videos all day, between feedings and naps.** And laughing at myself and the situations I find myself in has been a great way to re-frame my life, so that the glass is more often half full than half empty.

The second reason is that if just one person reading my story can be helped, it will have been worth sharing it. Maybe you’re pregnant and feeling like I did, or some version of it. Maybe you’ve recently had a baby and recognize some of the feelings I describe. Or maybe you’re not even a mother, but something in my writing resonated with you, and has inspired you to seek help.

I also feel that it’s important to convey that you can love your new baby, and still suffer from postpartum depression. It doesn’t make you a bad mother. It doesn’t mean you don’t love your baby. It doesn’t mean you have failed.

It’s time to end the stigma of mental illness. You are not alone. There is help. It’s okay to get help, and to admit that you need support. Trust me.

~g

* Please understand that I am not telling anyone that drugs are the answer, every time. They were the answer for me, this time, after I had tried numerous other coping and support mechanisms, that didn’t have the effect I was hoping for. Please research and explore ALL of the options available to you, if you are experiencing anxiety and/or depression.

**Although that totally has its place. Cats and babies and Pentatonix videos, all the way!

Resources

Health Canada Fact Sheet on Depression in Pregnancy

Perinatal Mood Disorder Ltd. – lots of great resources and information

Women’s College Hospital Reproductive Life Stages Program, Toronto

56 thoughts on “It’s time for me to come out

  1. mmsb says:

    I love how honest this is. I had a friend who – like you – had decided with her partner that one was enough for them. They got pregnant the day before his vasectomy was scheduled, and her whole pregnancy was filled with sadness and sorrow. I did not know how to support her, help her, through this… And to be honest, I bore guilt for feeling that I was not there enough for her. Somehow, in some way, your sharing has alleviated that burden. And I’m sure that many others who are in a similar situation will derive some solidarity from your brave sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis says:

      Thanks Michelle, it means a lot to hear that from you! It’s a strange thing to experience, and I hope your friend has found joy in her unexpected little one the way I have.

      Like

      • mmsb says:

        Well it’s interesting because like you, her second child was really peaceful and content and easy going, as far as newborns go. And he is now a determined, proud, funny, charming 8yo who is – by all accounts – the apple of his Mom’s eye.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann GrubbsnCritters says:

    Very honest account. I hear you and I feel everything you said because…I was there before with my first child – mild postpartum depression. For a while, I couldn’t bond with my child, and going “through the motion”. Like you, I’m high-functioning and I manage to get my mind of things as long as I have “things” to do. But it was a difficult one to battle through – the emotion bit and also because I’m quite the emotional fuckwit. PPD IS real, and I hope you’ll soon be seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. barbara says:

    Hi
    I could cut and insert my name into your essay. I know, been there, tried to get help few times and help failed me. You are doing something better 🙂 keep at it. I dug myself out but that was not the best thing.

    B

    Like

  4. autumnhm says:

    I really love this post. So many people feel like that can not be honest about depression/anxiety. I too deal with it even before all of the things we have been through the past three years. I am glad you found something that works for you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. shopgirlanonymous says:

    When I was pregnant the first time it was way unexpected. No really, I was still going through filing my divorce with my first husband and had just received an extremely time demanding promotion at work that I had been working years towards. I woke up each morning thinking of jumping off the19th floor balcony outside my bedroom window. I was so hateful. I hated my now husband, I hated myself, I hated my company, and most of all I hateful this baby. Resentment pumped my veins. Zoloft didn’t do it for me like it once had, it really wasn’t until I was laid off from my job and my significant other was laid off from his, and we were bathing old school style in the dark (minus the cheap candles we could afford) using pots filled with boiling water to pour into the tub that I strangely became at peace. Perhaps it was that I finally had let go of everything else, and this baby, at this point in my third trimester, was a fresh hope. Thank you so much for sharing, nice to know I’m not the only one. https://stepparentsanctuary.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Tyson says:

    This was great, and really close to home. Having anxiety issues/disorders are very hard to articulate. When you are walking around with a primed charge of rage, sometimes not even clearly defined in your own mind, anyone who happens to engage in the most harmless of interactions with you can unfortunately become a victim. I try as well to remember mindfullness at those times when someone asks me to hand them a pen, and I want to reply with “Don’t you know I’m totally out of control, on the cusp of oblivion… and you want a PEN!” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Toddler_Mama says:

    Like you said, if you can reach out to one person and make them feel less alone, you’ve done your job. You’re not the only one, but you’re one of the few who has chosen to share their story in an honest voice. Nice piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Monique says:

    Thank you for taking the courage to share your story!! Glad to know things are getting better 🙂 honestly it’s refreshing to know you don’t have your ish together! I mean really who wants to be around that person whose life is perfect?? I like being the tribe of hot mess people we’re an awesome group of folks 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Nelle says:

    Glynis, I think you already know how this post rings true for me, on so many accounts. I remember feeling so fake for acting happy, I remember simple decisions overwhelming me with dread, I remember feeling so silly for trying to get pregnant then panicking when I thought I was pregnant and wishing the pregnancy away. Oh, and rage? I honestly still think that I could win an Academy Award in the rage category: if only it was acting. And, as you know, I too tried it all, and thankfully, at long last, have found some peace. Good for you for sharing, and being so honest. And yes, it definitely helps the rest of us to know this.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. gwenancarter says:

    So brave of you to share this. I myself have/am suffering from PPD and this post has come on a day that I spoke to my Doctor about starting to cut down my medication, to be honest I’m terrified. Thank you this has really help me this evening!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Emily-Jane says:

    Amazing. You totally rock. All sounds familiar. Right down to people assuming I have it all held together now. No – some days my head is a total mess of self doubt and dark thoughts. I always find writing about it helps. My diary is one fun read!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. mamalisa4 says:

    Wow! I commend you on your bravery to tell this story and I am sure it will help so many. I have felt serious anxiety and fear as I found out I was pregnant again and again!! My husband was still securing his career and we weren’t settled. It boiled down to “this isn’t what I thought it would be” I thought we would have the large home with white picket fence and new cars on the driveway not cashing in coins to buy formula. We def had a rough patch and I could def relate with some of the feelings you had mentioned.

    Once I finally was able to come to terms with the way things were and found gratitude, awareness and all of this mumbo jumbo, that is when things started to change and by then I was changed, I think for the better. I hope you find that you are not alone in these feelings and I am glad to hear that you are doing better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis says:

      Thanks for reading, and for sharing your story, too! Yes, I’ve had to let go of a lot of my expectations of how things would be, too. I don’t regret anything, though! Glad you’ve found your way.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Kynsi says:

    I had a dream about you last night and hadn’t read any posts in a week or so, so I came on today to read and saw this….amazing! You are very courageous! LOVE! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Rachel says:

    Thanks for sharing this – 5 months in, I was diagnosed with postnatal depression (although I really should have talked to someone sooner). Reading about other people in similar positions makes the world seem less lonely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glynis says:

      I’m sorry you’re having a hard time, but I’m glad to know that reading my story has helped a bit. Stay strong, I’m glad you’re getting help!

      Like

  15. TheMomCafe.com says:

    I’m always amazed and often surprised when people share something about themselves that they don’t portray online.. I’m so glad you shared this Glynis. It’s a part of who you are, and it takes both integrity and courage to offer your story for others to get to know you on a much deeper level!

    I struggled as well, and FINALLY started taking some meds for the anxiety. Oh, how I wish I started them SOONER!! I was a miserable wreck. I get it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Please. Tell me I'm not the only one.